Finding solutions when faced with a drivers license suspension
A suspended driver's license can significantly impact your ability to work, pursue your education, and provide for your family. For first and second time offenders facing a DUI, our Murfreesboro DUI lawyers work with the court to get your drivers license back as soon as possible, or at least obtain a restricted license so you can travel to work and other necessary locations. At Pate and Knott, our DUI attorneys aggressively defend you and get you back on the road as soon as possible.
What happens to your drivers license if you refuse to take a chemical alcohol test in Tennessee?
Tennessee is an “implied consent” state, meaning that if an officer lawfully arrests you under the suspicion that you have been driving while influenced by drugs or alcohol, you consent to taking a breath, blood and/or urine test for the purpose of determining your blood alcohol level. If you refuse, your license will be automatically suspended. The length of the suspension is dependent on whether it is your first offense and follows this structure:
- First Offense – 1 year license revocation
- Second Offense – 2 year license revocation
- Third Offense – 2 year license revocation
You can challenge the license suspension, and should hire our experienced Murfreesboro DUI attorneys to help present your case. The local court system and law enforcement have a huge influence on how your case is adjudicated. At Pate and Knott, our Murfreesboro DUI attorneys challenge your license suspension and defend your DUI claim. We identify every possible option and create a strong legal defense strategy for you.
What is a restricted license?
- A restricted license allows you to drive only when going to and from certain locations, including:
- Traveling to and from your regular place of employment
- Attending a court-ordered DUI program
- Traveling to and from a scheduled interlock monitoring appointment
- Traveling to and from school, if enrolled full time in a college or university
The interlock monitoring program mentioned above is one of the penalties that can result from a DUI conviction. The ignition interlock device (IID) connects your car's ignition system to a breath-alcohol analyzer. To start the car, the drive must pass the breathalyzer test with an acceptable blood alcohol level.
To obtain the restricted license, you may also have to pay a fee and pass a drivers license examination. Obtaining a restricted license after a DUI may mean the difference between being able to support yourself and your family, or not. Our experienced Murfreesboro DUI attorneys work with the court to find a solution to your transportation needs. Our DUI attorneys are well versed and familiar with the Murfreesboro legal system and are experienced negotiators when it comes to working with the court.
Contact Murfreesboro DUI defense lawyers today if you are facing drivers license suspension as a result of driving under the influence in Tennessee
When facing a DUI, you need a tough negotiator to mitigate the potential penalties and get you back on the road. At Pate and Knott, our Murfreesboro DUI defense lawyers know the Murfreesboro court system and aggressively pursue a defense strategy to protect your rights and your drivers license after a DUI. Call us at 615-848-1221 or contact us online to schedule an initial consultation. We accept all major credit cards and are conveniently located on the square in downtown Murfreesboro, near the judicial building.